Forum Member

Default I need some advice. What are my options, what should I focus on?

I'm looking for some advice or suggestions please about my situation and I'll try to keep this as concise as possible. I joined the national guard right out of HS as a Firefighter and went to the DOD FA at Goodfellow. Shortly after I graduated, my unit got hit with a new mission. Long story short they cut the funding to our FD. I got out not wanting to be anything other than a FF. So now I'm a couple of years removed from my time in the military and as a FF and to be honest I miss it. I've had a realization that I'm passionate about being in a position to serve and help others and i want that to be my work. I'm willing to do whatever is needed to make that happen and I have nothing holding me back so I am open to relocation anywhere as needed. I'm also interested in any type of work ARFF, city dept., federal dept., wildland etc. My questions are as follows.

1. Am I eligible for any type of FF job with the certs I currently have? This is what I have from my limited time in, FF I & II, ARFF, D/O-Pumper, Hazmat AW, OPS & Tech, and first responder/cpr.

2. If I'm not qualified what should be my focus right now so that I am as soon as possible? I can assume from reading other threads that I need to get EMT-B done but other than that I'm not too sure what else or how to go about getting it.

3. I've contemplated the thought of reenlisting in another guard or reserve unit to help me get more experience and certs but I don't know if that would be a sound decision or not overall? My focus is more so on landing a Federal GS or contractor FF job but the prospect of being able to deploy, go TDY for training and help my community when natural disasters strike for example is very appealing to me.

Sorry if this was long but I wanted to include all of my thoughts. I appreciate all advice/input. Thank you.
    Last edited by jcx456; 10-04-2012 at 07:31 PM. Reason: edited

Forum Member