Good Morning Everyone,

Let me start by giving you a little history about myself, I am a 12 year veteran of the fire/rescue business. I started out as a volunteer, worked up into a career/periderm department, and now back to a volunteer/paid-on-call department. In 12 years’ time I have attended all sorts of training classes and events to help myself as a firefighter and be just that much more useful to the department whom I serve. I’ve gone as far as being an instructor for various Academy courses, helping get the new generation of firefighters ready to serve, and pass along my knowledge and experience to those just starting out.

OK… Now onto my dilemma; this is something I have spent many hours pondering at the firehouse. How can I take a group of volunteer firefighters, with mixed level of experience and knowledge and get them to work together as a cohesive team? The department to which I volunteer at has had a very trying past 5 years, with several tragic events that have resulted in loss of life, destruction of town property and bad media/press. It seems that the whole “brotherhood” and “team” aspect of the Department, the part which I love the most about the Fire service is only present when the bell sounds and even then it is a lax presence at best. The rest of the time the station is a war torn battlefield with the little cliqs and camps setup. The “he said, she said” and rumor mills plague and poison the moral.