Thread: Help Please

Forum Member

Question Help Please

Hi guys,
    My name is Ben, I am 25 yrs old, I live in Newcastle NSW Australia and I have been a Retained/Auxillary Firefighter for almost 6 and a half years now, previous to that, was part of the Rural Fire Service dealing mostly with bushland fire as a volunteer. I am finding it extremely difficult to obtain myself a full time position as it has been my ultimate career/life goal since I was a little boy. I have tried many services including my own and interstate 5 separate times, each time rejected due to the large amount of applicants. I have had a mountain of experience over the past 10 years with fire fighting including 5 years in Bushfire/Wildfire (Basic, Village, Advanced and Crew Leader) and 6 and a half years paid/part time in Structural, Hazmat and I am a Primary Rescue Technician. I currently hold a First-aid/Basic Life Support Skill and also drive the Motor/Engine just to name a few, I am as highly trained in my position as I can be, when I approached my Senior Training Officer to complete more training courses I was refused.
    In Febuary 2009 I received a phone call from my Inspector unexpectedly, asking if I was available to take time off work, to be flown down to Victoria with a crew to fight the infamous Black Saturday Fires. Without hesitation, I accepted immediately and was soon to be on the front line, in charge of my crew facing the worst bush fires in Australia's history.