Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Rookie seeking advice of veteran firefighters.

Ok, I don't know if I'm posting this in the right place, I've never been on a forum before to ask a question so here I go.

I'm a new firefighter EMT in Ohio. I've been trying to get a job the past 6 months since graduating with my certification. I'm a 19 year old male, I'm in decent firefighter shape(CPAT a few seconds short of 8 minutes, run six miles 4 times a week) and I graduated as the Valedictorian of my class and school. I've never gotten a ticket, never been in an accident, never done drugs, and have never been arrested. I've tested for several departments and have done reasonably well on most. (Lets face it when I first started testing and filling out applications I had no idea what I was doing compared to now.)

I have progressively gotten further and further into the testing process as time has gone by, but I think I've hit a dead end. The past two departments I've gone in for interviews for the Chief(and the other instance the Captain) told me that I was a wonderful candidate, but for the most part they're going to pass me over because I'm wet behind the ears, and green like the grass on a golf course. Which wouldn't be such a big deal if I didn't have so many other firefighters vouching that I'm a great kid and will make a good firefighter.(I'm an explorer, local fire department, and I'm pretty well liked up there)So lately I've been thinking about pursuing one of my other plans, the Marine corp Reserves(I originally placed this on the backburner, and tried to get my foot in the door with a department as a part-timer and pursuing my paramedic certification)