Forum Member

Default looking for outside advice for firefighting career

Kind of long, which i apologize for but ill try to just get straight to it. I looked at a few different places but didn't see anything really related. Also, with the way the economy is i would bet i am not the only one in this situation....so anyways... I'm a college grad and have been now for 2 years and a few months and i don't have a career yet. I do have a job and im thankful for it. Its' with a water company and im currently being paid 12 an hour and i average 20-22 hours a week MAX.

I come from a line of firefighters in my family and i wanted to get my college degree before i became a firefighter. Little did i know that while i was in college the economy would take a huge dump and i wouldn't be able to even apply for a firefighting job until a year after i graduated. I do want to be a firefighter but i don't see myself relocating across the country or moving far away to do so. I live in the DC, Maryland and Virginia area. There are plenty of departments around me hiring now.

I currently have 2 departments that i am still in the process with or i should say in the final stages with. One in Maryland and one in Virginia. I just found out that i will not be offered for the Maryland dept. that starts January 2013 although, they are trying to get another class that starts in May/June 2013 and pull people from this same hiring list. I've been told i just missed the cut and that if there is a second class off this list I would receive an offer.

The Virginia dept. won't have a class until April or so and while i've done well on each step in the process i don't know if i will get an offer or not. They haven't even begun to hand them out yet.