Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By fire49
  • 1 Post By frozennorth

Thread: Back to firefighting after the military...

Forum Member

Default Back to firefighting after the military...

Brothers,

I have a few questions I was hoping some of you experienced folk might be able to assist me with. At the present time I am an Infantry Officer (1LT) in the United States Army on active duty overseas in Germany. I used to be a Firefighter in California and enjoyed the job very much and I'm quite intent on getting back to it after my contract is up in two years. The problem I am facing is for one, I've been out of the loop for awhile and not quite current on what the hiring trends are like now, and secondly I am overseas which obviously makes the job hunt a bit more complicated. My qualifications are as follows:

Formal Education:
    -AS in Fire Science
    -AA in Social Behavioral Science
    -BA in History
    -Minor in Anthropology
    -3.98 cumulative GPA, Summa Cum Laude

Fire/EMS Experience:
    -Honor Graduate of Butte Fire Academy in California
    -Associate's Degree in Fire Science
    -EMT experience (2 years on a BLS Ambulance)
    -Firefighting experience (2 years as a Firefighter 1 at CalFire)
    -The following Certifications:
    *CalFire Basic Firefighter
    *CalFire Basic Wildland Firefighter
    *Low Angle Rescue
    *Incident Command System 100 & 200
    *Terrorism Consequence Management
    *Vehicle Extrication
    *Fire Control III
    *Confined Space Awareness
    *Swift Water Rescue
    *Rapid Intervention Crew Tactics
    *Hazardous Materials-First Responder Operational
    *Firefighter Survival

Military Experience:
    -Distinguished Military Graduate from commissioning source (19th out of 4,500+ officers)
    -Airborne qualified
    -Safety Officer Qualified
    -Company Fire Warden Officer
    -Platoon Leader
    -Executive Officer
    -Officer Recruiter