Like Tree36Likes

Thread: We're not firefighters anymore.

Forum Member

Emergency responders is a better catchall phrase to cover all of us.

In my job we are only firefighters when we die working, the rest of the time we are just forestry workers so I'm strongly on the meh side of the argument. I have a fire engine, I go to fires, I'm happy with that.
    I frequently tell people I provide daycare for adult children when asked what I do for a living.
    bcjack and RangerJake72 like this.

Forum Member

I'm on both paid and rural volunteer departments. Being called a volunteer never phased me until finding this forum and seeing how it is used as an insult by some here. It seems that "volunteer" has now been ursurped by "first responder" as the ultimate slap in the face for a firefighter.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by snowball View Post
    I for one am furious over this! As a matter of fact, if we survive 12-21, the assault weapons ban, the fiscal cliff, Prince William and Kate's awful morning sickness, threat level whatever, TSA underwear checks, Moonshiners, earthquakes, global warming, ancient aliens, Todd Hoffman busting out on another gold claim, Travolta getting happy endings from dudes, the government, Christmas vs. Xmas, Snookie, or whatever else. If we survive all that, I'm going on a personal crusade to end this atrocity being heaped on...uh...firef...no,...poli,..no...ambula...no..f irst responders!
    Who's with me?!!!
    You forgot honey boo boo...
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member

I seem to remember a bumper sticker from the early 1980's that stated...

"When the experts panic, they call the FIRE DEPARTMENT"

not "first responders"...