Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Former firefighter starting a fire protection business... a licensing question.

I'm an former firefighter with 4 years of experience, FF I&II, HazMat Operations, etc. and would like to get involved in fire extinguisher sales and services (monthly inspections). Eventually want to work my way into fire suppression systems, but one step at a time as I'll be doing this as a second job.

I have contacted state (Missouri Department of Fire Safety), county, fire district and city clerks here in Missouri and none claim to have any special licenses or certifications required for fire extinguisher sales/maintenance. Is this pretty standard in other states, the only authority being NFPA 10, no special licensing needed to maintain/recharge/hydrostatic test these units? That seems hard to believe, am I missing something.

Are fire extinguisher maintenance records part of your district's annual commercial property inspections? It seems either insurance companies or OSHA are the reason these commercial properties pay to have extinguishers serviced professionally, is my understanding correct?

Forum Member

Various authorities have requirements to have extinguishers inspected annually

Suggest you just contact a fire extinguisher company near you and ask all the questions
    Just do not tell them you want to go into business

Also suggest you work part time for one, so you can see what it is really like and learn

It call;;

http://mofed.info/
    Last edited by fire49; 12-29-2012 at 12:03 AM.

Forum Member

Not sure how old this is