Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Which way do I go?

hey everyone, I had a quick question and was hoping for some insight. I live in PA and am 25 years old. I am a recent veteran of the U.S. Army and am currently pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Fire Science/Public Administration. (I just received my Associates degree in Fire Science this past week.) Anyway, I first joined the fire service when I was 16 and after my first ride on a fire truck I realized right away this is how I want to make my living. I really enjoy every aspect of the fire service.
    I'm kind of at a cross road right now as the what to do. I currently have my FF1 VRT Hazmat OPS and a few other classes, such as EVOC, Pump 1 etc. I'm quickly coming to the realization that in order for me to get a paid Fire fighting job I need to complete my EMT and at the bare minimum get Fire 2 under my belt. The only problem is EMT is very time consuming and fire 2 is a pretty lengthy course as well. So, i was wondering if I should just suck it up and take EMT on top of my school schedule or wait until I'm finished with school in another 2 years to get the cert. Or just narrow my job search down to departments that offer a full length academy that covers everything? I'm kind of at the point where I'm tired of waiting around and would like to get on the job sooner rather than later, but I also know that school is pretty important and I should just suck it up and get it over with, because once you start working full time school can go out the window pretty quickly . Either way, sorry for the long rant, but what like to know would you guys would do if you were in my situation? Obviously the more certifications you have the more appealing of a candidate you become. Thanks for the advice and stay safe everyone.
    Last edited by enginecompany; 01-03-2013 at 11:28 PM.

Forum Member

1. So if you decide to finish your four year degree, What will you do with it??