Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default former marine w/emt/ff cert/ifsac seals lookin for work

Hey, I'm new to firehouse and the ff world. Recently graduated the fire academy, passed tcfp and also have ff1,ff2,hazmat awareness n ops ifsac seals. I also have my emt-b with almost 3 years exp as a emt, since the municipal jobs here are scarce, I figure with my military exp I could get an overseas, industrial job... Anyone have any pointers or job hints for me, I'd greatly appreciate the help. Im willing to go anywhere for work

You are a good candidate for overseas positions. Also, have you considered being a Federal Firefighter- for the DoD or another federal agency? Also dont rule out the VA at one of their larger facilities. Take a look at www.usajobs.com, do a "series" search of the 0081 job classification.

While your certs are nice, you could need more or less depending on the municipality or organization you are pursuing employment with. Many larger cities (mostly on the east coast) require NO certs whatsoever- you get trained in their training academies upon hiring. Other places may require more, or even college credit. You need to contact individual places or municipalities on your own and hear it from the horses mouth- NEVER rely on internet "hearsay" about hiring requirements.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by FWDbuff View Post
    You are a good candidate for overseas positions. Also, have you considered being a Federal Firefighter- for the DoD or another federal agency? Also dont rule out the VA at one of their larger facilities. Take a look at www.usajobs.com, do a "series" search of the 0081 job classification.