Like Tree10Likes
  • 6 Post By FyredUp
  • 2 Post By FWDbuff
  • 1 Post By FyredUp
  • 1 Post By FyredUp

Thread: Labeling of Outside Compartments

Forum Member

Default Labeling of Outside Compartments

I'm looking for some input on labeling compartments on the outside of our engine. We are part of a combination Career and Volunteer department, the volunteer companies are given apparatus by the city and pretty much can arrange them the way we want to. I've seen it when companies paint on the compartments whats in them(ex. irons compt) and so on I was wondering if we could just label them with a heavy duty waterproof label...and where would I go about getting them?

MembersZone Subscriber

Your leadership should determine what goes in each compartment and everyone should comply.

If I'm a firefighter from X company and I need a piece of equipment off Y company's rig, I shouldn't have to walk around the truck opening compartment doors trying to find it.

I corresponded with a Brit firefighter some years ago - all of their apparatus, paid or volunteer ("retained") throughout their entire county was set up exactly the same way.

That said - It's possible different companies may have slightly different missions, so there will be some variations. But in general, if I need a widget common to all companies, I should be able to walk up to any truck, open the same compartment, and find it, preferably in exactly the same spot.

It's your department management/leadership that needs to step up on this.

As for labelling - standardization should lessen the need for this, but whatever floats your boat.
    Opinions my own. Standard disclaimers apply.

Everyone goes home. Safety begins with you.

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

Personally I hate labeling. I think firefighters should know their rig well enough that there is no need for that.
    Crazy, but that's how it goes
    Millions of people living as foes
    Maybe it's not too late