Forum Member

Question They call me Probie

Hey everyone. My name is Derek. I am basic 36 hour volunteer firefighter for Scioto township fire/ems.
    Just some background on me.
    I have always wanted to be a firefighter.
    When i graduated and was able to be a firefighter I signed up ASAP.
    My official join date to the Dept. was Sept. 11th 2012.

My question to start things off. Should I follow my dream to be a firefighter?
    That is the biggest problem I am having at the moment.
    I live in Ohio which firefighting jobs are become hard to get.
    I really want to be a paid FF/Paramedic but is it worth the chance?
    I just got my acceptance lettering to a college to do my 240/medic in 6 months.
    My just received that letter I mean 20 mins ago.
    I just don't want to waste the money if I can't get the job.
    I am sorry if I sound whiny and all but I am just worried.
    It feels like my dream is just a silly childhood fantasy.

Forum Member

Fair questions, Derek.

Some things to think about:

Is it important for you to be employed near your hometown? Are you willing to consider career opportunities in other cities/counties in Ohio? How about in other states? If you are willing to move to take a job, that will open opportunities for you, if...

A. You are in good health and would make a good candidate based on your physical abilities

B. You are of good moral character and would pass a background check

C. Hold a current and valid driver's license and have a fairly clean driving record

D. Have some general job experience (at least a year or two of work experience, or a college degree if no work experience).