Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Relocation Recommendation

I am a career firefighter for a small department in Illinois. Our department is constantly threatended with cuts, layoffs, or closures, although none have happened yet, we have lost positions through attrition. Add to this that our state has the second most under funded pension system in the nation, and I keep thinking more and more that it is time to relocate. I have a young family and if we uproot, we would like to go somewhere warm that has a very comfortable climate but that isn't a huge community. We like the big city setting because of convenience, but I want to work for a smaller department where you're not just a cog in a wheel but are more a part of the department. A department that has foreward thinking individuals with a progressive attitude would be preferred. In short, I'd like to work in the most perfect place in the world...okay...okay...I know that doesn't exist, but a close comparison would be subtible. A strong school system, a good economy, good starting pay, and a place that's good to raise kids is what's most important. We have mostly been looking out west, but please feel free to jump in if you have any suggestions. Thanks everyone!

Forum Member

what certs do you have???

how about texas slightly warm, fairly cheap to live in, plenty of land to live on

check weekly:::

http://www.tcfp.texas.gov/job_postings/jobs.asp

suggest north texas

http://www.tcfp.texas.gov/certificat...ansferring.asp

I thought TX was really dry and hot? I did look at some jobs there but noticed the pay was a little low, of course I somewhat expect that starting over. With OT this year I made around $64K so I know there will be some adjustment. Is the COL that much lower there? The median value of a home here is around $125K, a gallon of milk costs $3.50 and a gallon of gas costs about $3.35 right now.