Forum Member

Default Junior Firefighter Program

Hey Everyone,

My name is Cody, I'm an Advanced EMT and Firefighter at a small rural fire department in North Alabama. I have recently been put in charge of starting up an explorer/cadet firefighter program, but I really need some help from those of you that have done this before. We've never had a cadet program before, and I definitely want to do it right and legal, so I contacted Learning for Life in Birmingham, and they sent me a packet containing information needed to start a program through them, but it also had a piece of paper with rules and do's/don't's from the state of Alabama, and it said that a department can start there own unaffiliated program as long as they follow the rules set forth. Our department decided that is what we want to do, but where do I get applications, consent forms, vaccine sheets, etc? Also, how are they covered under the insurance of the department? How about SOP's? I've already run a participation survey in the community to see if any teens were interested and had quite a few emails/phone calls. Sorry for the onslaught of questions. I'm sure you all have had this question asked many times before, but I couldn't find any documents or info specific for Alabama. Thanks so much.
    -
    Cody

MembersZone Subscriber

We just made up our own paperwork, with a review by a free attorney. The insurance covered the "students" or "juniors" as a matter of the basic insurance package we have.

MembersZone Subscriber

There are a number of Explorer programs - a web search may find some of them. I have some paperwork from Orange County, CA that goes back some years, which I believe I found on-line.

Contact your local Boy Scout office - they will have info on Explorer programs.