Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By BeachFFOBX

Thread: Any advice for a 33y/o FF looking for a gig!??

Forum Member

Default Any advice for a 33y/o FF looking for a gig!??

Sounds pretty sad I am sure but heres my question for you guys/gals;

As you can read I am 33 and in a few years will be 36- in the state of Indiana many departments only hire under 36 and do not consider you eligible if you are 36 on the date you are instated as firefighter, not necessarily badged up, but hired! I have a DUI on my record that prevents me from working at several departments- the DUI is 3 years old now and I am currently drug and alcohol free (2 years ) not that it makes a difference when looking at applications. What are my chances in getting a job? I am a certified Paramedic Nationally, North Carolina, Indiana, Virginia , certified Fire 1 and 2 IFSAC. I currently am a firefighter in NC but moving to Indiana, the Indianapolis metro area.

Any advice??? Thanks everyone

sorry for any spelling or grammar mistakes

Forum Member

Well a few hits against you

Test at any department you can apply at and see what happens

Stay out of anymore trouble

Forum Member

Thanks for the advice

MembersZone Subscriber

For what it's worth, I think the age thing is much more of an issue than the DUI. Time can heal wounds like a DUI, but the Indiana law doesn't allow for that. Is the destination of Indiana already determined? Many states don't have age laws in place and you would then have a great chance of living clean and showing a pattern of good behavior proving to prospective employers that you simply made a stupid, isolated mistake. I'm not sure 2-4 years is enough, though. But, like fire49 said, all you can do is test anywhere you can and be honest throughout the process.
    Last edited by Hewartson47; 02-16-2013 at 01:34 PM.

Forum Member