Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By snowball
  • 1 Post By volfireman034

Thread: The Small Town FD

Forum Member

Default The Small Town FD

Hello all, I'm a volunteer firefighter, my department is very small with only about 25 guys on it, my town is about 900 people (we also cover rural fires in the district). I'm hoping all the guys from small FD's like me, will put in their two cents about their departments as well.

Thanks. Stay safe everybody!

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

Quote Originally Posted by williams View Post
    Hello all, I'm a volunteer firefighter, my department is very small with only about 25 guys on it, my town is about 900 people (we also cover rural fires in the district). I'm hoping all the guys from small FD's like me, will put in their two cents about their departments as well.

What kind of 2 cents are you looking for? I am on 2 volly/POC FDs, one in a village of 720 with 0 firefighters, and one with a population of about 1100 with 34 members. I am also a career firefighter on a department of around 92 that covers a population of around 50,000.
    Crazy, but that's how it goes
    Millions of people living as foes
    Maybe it's not too late
    To learn how to love, and forget how to hate

Forum Member

I have an Austrailian dime I got back as change... that's 2 cents times 5 if you're "down under"....
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member

I found out that if you inhale through your nose in the middle of the tain't.....

you will get 2 scents.....
    rm1524 likes this.
    IAFF

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by williams View Post