Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Question Collegiate Fire Dept Start-Up

Hey Folks,

So a bit about myself. I'm currently a junior in college who has been highly involved in our collegiate EMS. We are a huge organization that does a lot for our campus, but being a firefighter I sorely miss running calls with my hometown volley department and wanted to start up a collegiate fire department to be attached to our town's FD .

At school, we have a very good career department for the town my college is in. They are great guys and we work with them fairly often. Still, I'd love to do the firefighting side of things at school. Now before anyone shoots down my idea saying "Why replace something that already works well?", I would want to do this for a few reasons. Having some volunteers firefighters on campus with pagers would be beneficial for many things like response times, clearing false alarms, and rendering EMS care far before any paid guys get on scene. Our EMS organization was viewed the same way when we started up a couple decades ago: While we seemed to be an unnecessary group in the way of a paid, transporting service...we proved to be an indispensable asset to our contracted transporting EMS service.

Many university officials, peers, and some of my FF friends have supported this idea of a collegiate FD...but I have no idea where to start. I was going to talk to my town's chief, but before I did that I wanted advice from you guys.