Forum Member

Default Too late to get hired for 2013 fire season?

What are the chances of getting hired for this fire season with only First responder, evoc, s130, s190? Also whats the best way to get hired?

I'm a college student and volunteer at my local station, about four months ago I finished my s-130/s-190 certifications. My instructor ran contract trucks out West and told me about working on fire lines during the summer. So I looked into it and its something Id like to do this summer.

So is it to late to get hired this summer and if not how do I get hired rather it be by fed/contract crews?

I know I also need a Red card but I plan on taking my work capacity test later this month.

Forum Member

Most federal units and CAL FIRE have all done their interviews and most of their hiring. Where do you live? what department do you volunteer for?

I would say try to do shifts at your volunteer station during the summer so when you do get some vegetation fires, you will have experience. That goes along way.

You can look into hotshot crews ( but really hard to get on) some may still be hiring. Or you can look into independent hand crews. I say before applying you get your RED CARD ASAP. They wont even look at your application and resume without it. The more certificates, qualifications, and experience the better.

I have friends in the FEDS, Big Municipal Departments ( Sacramento City, Sacramento Metro, San Francisco, etc), and also CAL FIRE. I can ask around and try to get their advice to see if they know any other hand-crews hiring. You may want to look on wildlandfirejobs.com or usajobs.gov