Forum Member

Default Have questions about organizing my future

I have used this site a lot in planning what I want to accomplish in the future as far as becoming a firefighter. I have lined up a list of goals I need to accomplish before ever applying but just need help with organizing everything. I am a California resident and starting in the fall i am attending my local college to attend fire technology classes. I am also scheduled to get my emt cert next fall as well. Other then those two covered i have questions about other related training and procedures that i would like some answers to.

1. As far as education goes, should I get my two year degree or just take the individual fire classes that my school offers? I have read that for the hiring process it won't be seen as much but when it comes to promotions it will come in good use to have?

2. When do you attend a fire academy? Do you enroll in one before you ever apply around to departments or wait until you are hired and have them send you to one?

3. Do you need ff1 and ff2 certs before you apply to departments or is that part of the training you receive after hired. I know this probably depends on which department im sure and what they require, but which or both would be a good idea to have before ever applying around?

4. And my last question is i am not planning on living/working in California when the time comes to start applying and testing for departments. Would it be a good idea to just stick with fire classes and/or a college degree out here along with my emt and then wait to get the rest of my certifications and do my volunteering time in the state in which i choose to work in? I'm thinking along the lines of saving time and hassle of switching everything over someday from state to state and getting in that situation where another state will only except half of what I have accomplished for certifications.