Forum Member

Default Structural vs Wildland training

Hello everyone I'm a 22 year old firefighter/paramedic that just moved from Louisiana to Oregon about a month ago and i have decided to look into wild land firefighting. I have a question about the wild land 3-mile arduous walk. I went through the fire academy about 2 years ago and I'm still in good shape not quite as good as when i went through the academy but still good. I never stood out when it came to the running or walking aspect but i passed, I've always stood out in the strength aspect of testing so i have a lot of upper and lower body strength i just lack speed. I am having trouble completing the 3 mile walk in 45 minutes i am at 50-51 minutes the weight isn't a problem i've tried it with and without weight and it only knocks off about 15-20 seconds. I keep a steady pace of about 4mph for the first mile and a half but then i slow down and i am not tired or out of breath so I'm not understanding why. I'm not a big guy either I'm only 5'10 and weigh 175-180lbs with very little body fat its all muscle so i don't have a lot of weight to move around. My test is in a couple of weeks so i need to figure out how to knock off 5 minutes so if anyone has any advice for me that would be great thanks.

Forum Member

It is an akwardly fast walking pace that takes some practice.

I find it helps to use a treadmill set between 4 and 5mph. 4 mph will put you right at 45 minutes, 5 mph will get you over the finish line at 36 minutes (which is a really fast time and unrealistic for most people).

It is pass / fail so 44:30 is just as good as 40:00

It is also much easier to do as a group. A single person often has trouble maintaining pace, but in a group it can be easier to stick together and maintain the pace.

Forum Member

Thanks for the advice i really appreciate it.

Forum Member