Forum Member

Default Air Force Fire Protection 2013

Good evening,

My name is Danny and im 23. I've been researching the Air Force off and on for 3 years or so. I've been searching multiple forums the past month trying to find updated info but nothing of recent time. So I apologize if I've asked previous questions but there most likely old. I was in the process with a recruiter about 2 years ago going Active, who seemed like she just gave up on me. But anyways, I recently started researching the Air National Guard or Air Force Reserves still in Fire Protection. I'm currently a volunteer Firefighter/EMT/EVO for two years, and currently going to medic school graduating in Dec with my EMS degree.

I have many questions I randomly think of through out the day but can't think of them all currently. I'm just looking for some advice on maybe which branch to join? How tough is Fire Protection to get as a job now in 2013? With 60 college credits would I go in as E-3? With my current fire related certs, being proboard certs, I've read that they AF could guarantee me the job. But again that's info I've read that had been posted a couple of years ago. Sorry for the long post I am just trying to get the best info I can before I see the recruiter.

BTW: before someone's says ask a recruiter, I've been trying but there's only one in my location, and that locations address isn't posted online so I don't know where it is. Tried emailing with no response.

Thank you for your time.

Forum Member

No you will not go in as an E-3, and more than likely not even an E-2 unless you commit to more than four years, unless things have changed.

no your training will not guarantee you a job,

BUT if you decide to go in hold out till you get a firefighting job guaranteed on paper!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

if you want firefighting air force is the best branch, but you have to understand they do not fight that many fires, depending on wher you go, plus they are more air craft oriented.