Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Looking for a FF Wife's advice to a possible probie.

Forum Member

Default Looking for a FF Wife's advice to a possible probie.

Hello Ladies,

I am currently in a academy ran by a local school to get my certifications. I will be graduating in August and have a big decision to make: get a job as a full time firefighter or find another career. See, when beginning this academy, I was all about being a firefighter, I was ready for anything and everything. I had no worries about the schedule firefighting presented me or how firefighting would affect my home life as I would be living alone with no significant other. However during this time my fiance came along and we are set to be married next April. I almost dropped my academy to go be with her (we live a hour apart). My first dream for a long while was to just have a family of my own, being a husband who was home helping as much as possible, and spending as much time I could with them. Honestly, I had given up on that dream until I met her. Now, I am concerned that I will be spending so much time with fire fighting as my career, being gone every third night, and the distress that comes along with the job will affect my home life and future marriage. She works at a local bank and plans to stay there, so our schedules would far from aline time off wise. She will have all holidays off, I won't be able to. I will be gone when she wants me home, and quite frankly, anytime she wants me to be there I want to be there as well. I am beyond confused, because now I have NO idea what to do with my life or what direction to take it. I just want my marriage and family first not my job. She seems to be fine with it now, but I don't think she quite knows the extent of how everything will be. I see a lot of you have made marriages work with a significant other in the fire service. Any advice? Are there any upsides to having