Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    TFD
    Forum Member

Default Want to pursue my dream

Hello, I'm 20 years old, and I have my Firefighter 1 & 2 as well as R.I.T course done. Doesn't seem like much for most people but I'm just starting out. I'm a volunteer for a small town in Wisconsin. I'd absolutely LOVE to be full time and I'm just wanting to know what it takes, where do you start? etc.

Forum Member

Find out what certifications if any are required to apply in most of the cities in your state.

If you have them already , start applying, and testing.

Test anywhere and everywhere....

Get in physical shape and stay out of trouble to include no traffic tickets.

Start practicing interviewing

Might check some stuff here:

http://www.eatstress.com/resume.htm

Did I say test everywhere

Forum Member

Go to medic school. Having your medic will put you ahead of the pack. I got mine at 20, better young before you have a family, cause it will be your life for about a year. And as fire49 said TEST EVERYWHERE!You can always turn down a offer but cant accept it if its not there

Forum Member

You are on the right track. I agree with the thoughts about going to Paramedic school, IF you have a passion to be a paramedic. Do not go because you think it will help you get hired. Here are some thoughts I have put together on how to pursue a career in the fire service.

Pursuing a career in the fire service can be an intimidating process that is often full of conflicting information. This may be especially true when you speak to a group of firefighters. How can this be? Actually, it’s very understandable when you consider that the minimum requirements to become a firefighter are often 18 – 21 years of age and possession of a high school diploma or a GED. While these may be the minimum requirements, it’s very rare for a fire department to hire someone with the minimum requirements.