Thread: Accountability

Forum Member

Default Accountability

Good morning ladies and gents! Was just looking to see what the smaller depts. do for accountability on a call? A little background on our dept. We are a small paid on call dept with a roster of about 20. Last night at our monthly meeting our new chief wants to set up a new system to track who is on what rig and what they are doing. Im new to the dept and the fire service in general so im not 100% sure what the sop is for our dept. We fill out run sheets after each call but that doesnt do any good at the scene. An example of our system now is a week ago this past monday we had a brush fire call. turned out a contractor was doing road work and was burning stumps down a mile and a half stretch right in the middle of the woods. When we respond its the first couple of guys that get to the station first take the first rig called for. Well on this night we had a full dept. response. Our commanding officer on scene was trying to track everyone by writing it down on a note pad. With everyone moving all over he was having a hard time who was where with what rig. Now we have the metal tags that hang off the back of our helmets. Our chief tossed out the idea of getting 2 more sets made up so we have 3 total. When a call comes in as you get to the station on tag will go on a board at the station so the radio op knows who is out. the second goes on the rig we respond in. and the third stays with us. Anyone ever do this? Also any other idea would be helpful but we are a small dept with a small budget. Thanks everyone.

Forum Member

Buy the officer in charge a dry erase, so he can track companies better.

Once you get to the scene take your tag from your entire crew and give it to the command officer.

All you need is some Velcro on the back. Each truck gets a small board and all crew members Velcro their tag to the board and board is handed to command

MembersZone Subscriber