Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By captnjak

Thread: Should I switch careers to firefighting

Forum Member

Default Should I switch careers to firefighting

I am thinking of changing careers and would like some feedback. I have a very long list of things against me to make this an uphill battle but I am a very strong willed determined persistent person. I am a 42 year old female with no career experience with anything besides a corporate exec job. I have a college degree in business and currently own and run a few locations of a well known franchise. I am also a mom to 4 kids from elementary age all the way to high school.

A friend that has been a firefighter for many many years recently gave me a tour of his station. That planted a seed in my head about a profession I knew little about. Seeing the inner-workings of the firehouse and talking here and there with him about the profession and the ups and downs of day to day scenarios gave me a strong desire to find out as much as I could about the profession, what it takes to get your foot in the door etc.