Forum Member

Default Probie seeking advice: out of state testing.

I'm going to apologize beforehand. This is going to be a long posting, but if you have perspective that could aid or guide me I ask with all sincerity to please bare with me. I could use all the guidance and perspective I can obtain.

I've wanted to ask and see if anyone out there reading this has found that it's worth traveling and taking tests for other cities not in their general vicinity. I know that's a rather dumb question to start out with, "never miss the opportunity to take a test, especially if it's fulltime." I want to focus this posting on testing out of state. I'm a probie here in the Cincinnati area, I'm new to the game, 6 months field experience for 3 part time departments and in paramedic school. I'm just about to turn 20, I'll have my paramedic in January, my family is here in Ohio, but other than that I have no real ties to the area. I don't pretend to know a lot about anything, especially firefighting, but if I can say I've done one thing reasonably well from what my teachers drilled into my head in school its, ears and eyes open, mouth shut, and coffee made dishes done. I've heard a lot about opportunites out of state for paramedics when it comes to fulltime jobs.