Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By captnjak
  • 1 Post By FyredUp
  • 2 Post By snowball

Thread: Dealing With Probationary Firefighter Jinx (busy firehouse turned slow)

Forum Member

Default Dealing With Probationary Firefighter Jinx (busy firehouse turned slow)

Okay, I am not a superstitious person and I never believed in "jinx." But as a brand new firefighter, I have encountered a situation that seems to defy any other explanation. Two months ago I was hired as a probationary firefighter for a large midwest fire department (750 members) and assigned to one of the top 3 busiest firehouses in the city. This house always sees a good deal of fire and other emergencies, and I was told this would be a great place to get some experience early in my career.

The problem is that ever since I started, my shift hasn't seen one good working fire in over two months! But most of the other firehouses in the adjoining battalions are running their behinds off. Besides that, the firehouse has been relatively slow overall. To add insult to injury, I recently took a personal day off to attend a wedding...and of course my shift caught a major working fire that day.

Beginning to think there is a jinx involved. Have any of you (at larger and busy departments) ever encountered this before? Is this typical? Or am I just making a big deal out of nothing...

Forum Member

Big deal out of nothing. Your turn will come. It always does.

PS Once your turn comes, take a look around at the devastation caused by the fire. Even if no one is hurt or killed, the owners/occupants will be some seriously miserable people. We should be careful when it comes to hoping to go to fires. It's not really about us.
    BoxAlarm187 likes this.

Forum Member