Forum Member

Default one sided hearing loss and wildland firefighting

I've been looking for a change in profession and I'm in the process of applying for a wildland job. My main concern is that I've got one sided hearing loss. A little background about myself is that I've been a paid-on-call firefighter since 2007. I've moved around some and have since been with 3 different fire departments that respond to both structural and wildland fires and have been cleared by physicians in all 3 of those department. I'm also currently working as an EMT-B on an ALS service. I've had this hearing loss since birth and it's been well documented through audiograms. I've been denied full time employment with a full time fire department due to not meeting their hearing standard. My question is would I have a problem getting into the wildlan service with my hearing loss despite my past fire history?

Forum Member

This question has never come up for me before, but I was able to dig up the standards we use for the Federal Government (US Forest Service, National Park Service etc). The bad news for you is it does look like you need hearing in both ears.

This came from an interagency medical standards program which was suspended a few years ago and has yet to be replaced, so I really can't give you definitive yes or no. Honestly if you can do the job, I have a feeling you would not be turned down for work as a temporary seasonal firefighter. It could impact your ability to hold a career position though.

HEARING STANDARD