Like Tree11Likes

Thread: New hopeful and gear questions

Forum Member

Default New hopeful and gear questions

Hello!

I'm trying to get a job for the 2014 year fire season. I originally did the wildland fire training in January 2010, but a foot injury kept me from applying to jobs that year, and I was never able to take the pack test and get my red card. I worked as a fisheries observer in Alaska on the commercial fishing boats from 2011 through this year. I'm hoping to get back into land based work. How are new applicants with biology experience viewed? Is it something I should promote, or play down? I do have prescribed fire experience from back in college. Does age ever play a role in hiring? I'm 27, and worried the hiring agency is looking for younger people as new recruits!

My other question is, what gear do firefighters usually have to provide for themselves, and what would everybody recommend? I remember boots being one of them, and I'm looking to get a pair to start breaking in. I'd appreciate recommendations! I'm hoping to get a list together and ask for some of the gear for Christmas to help cover some of the costs.

Thank you!!

Rachel
    FF14 likes this.

Forum Member

Hi Rachel,

I would recommend getting your red card first. Without that, most departments ( primarily federal government) will not even give you a chance. If you want to work for any federal government like US Forest Service, then I would totally promote biology experience. These big federal department have little departments within that deal with biology,etc.

Next, age does not matter. I met guys and gals this year that just got hired and were mid 30s. The average age for most departments to hire are 27-35. So you will be just fine. I would try and gain more experience with local volunteer departments as well. It also looks better on the resume.