Forum Member

Default Advice for a fire instructor

I have read a few different articles about instructing. I work as FF at an airport, on my off days i am an assistant instructor In fire 1&2. I get into it yoo much as in getting my hands dirty and showing them when they dont get my point. Its hard to teach freshmen in college who do not understand how to be aggressive and bust your a## WHEN NEEDED.
    Any general tips appreciated

Forum Member

Instruct the way you like to be instructed

Remember you are teaching basics and the dept will do the chewing on

Forum Member

took me many years to accept it , but the sad fact is ---you cant teach want to
    ?

Forum Member

I guess it would be better to embrace now rather than later. Sad thing on a burn day i tell the 1 student, that i know will screw up, CHECK YOUR STREAM AND DO NOT BANG THE NOZZLE WHEN SEARCHING FOR FIRE ROOM! As i wait in the fire room he comes in and automatically starts spraying everything Full Fog and drops the nozzle! HOLY SH#T Steamed the .... out of me

Forum Member

Repetition

have them carry a nozzle everywhere they go for a day till the get very Acquainted with it.

or similar depending on what the problem is

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Bkuhn View Post
    I guess it would be better to embrace now rather than later. Sad thing on a burn day i tell the 1 student, that i know will screw up, CHECK YOUR STREAM AND DO NOT BANG THE NOZZLE WHEN SEARCHING FOR FIRE ROOM! As i wait in the fire room he comes in and automatically starts spraying everything Full Fog and drops the nozzle! HOLY SH#T Steamed the .... out of me
    I believe that BEGINNERS should not be allowed in a burn room with a combination nozzle. There seems to invariably be one who screws up and uses the wrong position. If you use them in your department, let the students use them too. But only AFTER they've proven themselves to be somewhat reliable.

Forum Member