Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree4Likes
  • 4 Post By paulLepore

Thread: Resumes for inexperienced firefighters, what do you include on yours?

Forum Member

Question Resumes for inexperienced firefighters, what do you include on yours?

Hey folks,

I'm a 27 year old with a BA looking to move into the fire service as a career. I'm presently an EMT-B and finishing Fire1 in 2 weeks. I have hazmat ops, rescue site ops, and EVOC, and I've got a short list of courses I'll be taking next year, including paramedic.

I know paramedic changes the game and makes me very hireable, but until then I'm looking at semi-related jobs like IFT EMS, and I'm not going to turn down a chance to apply into the career service if one turns up. I ultimately want to be a Fire Medic / HazMat Medic, but I ain't getting any younger, so getting into the career department is a priority.

When I'm making a resume that wants to be somewhat fire-specific, should I omit qualifications and certifications from other fields? I've worked for several years as a pharmacy technician and I'm a certified pharmacy technician. I presently work at a psychiatric hospital and so I'm certified in crisis intervention and physical non-violent restraint techniques as well as some other odds and ends.

In the rest of the world, I'd include those sort of "as related." I'd probably not emphasize that I can hold a dude safely if I was applying back into pharmacy. I'd probably include my CPhT regardless, because it's a certification that demonstrates learning etc etc etc.

I'm not sure what to include for fire service though. I am a volunteer, but like I said, I'm green as heck and just finishing Fire 1, so I don't have a lot of fire-specific experience to show.

Basically, I'm wanting to front-load fire and general important information (my degree) on this thing so as not to send the interviewers on a chase for the relevant info, but I also don't want to include a bunch of rubbish.