Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Being The Informal Leader

So I'm having a bit of a problem, and hopeing someone can help me out with it. I am currently a senior driver operator in a relatively large dept, (350+ career personnel). I have been with the department for just over six years and have worked very hard to advance to the position that I am in now, and am currently planning to advance futher in our next promotional process. But, in the position I am currently in, as the senior D/O at my station, I consider myself an "informal leader".

Here is the senario I have recenlty found myself in. I was given a brand new crew on my shift. A new LT, a new paramedic and emt on the ambulance. All three of the people I find myself working with now all alike have a reputation as not being very motivated firefighters. But I took this as a challenge, and very quickly found ways to motivate my crew to go out and train, and to try and become better firemen, that part was not hard. But with the Thanksgiving day upon us, the crews in our battalion always go to the central station for thanksgiving dinner. Well this year, my new crew decided that they did not want to attend this gathering, even with my pleading and reasoning, they were unwilling to participate. I recieved some good natured jabbing from my friends from the other stations, but they all said they knew I would have been there had the decision been up to me.

So the question really is, as being the "informal leader", motivating your crew in the station is the easy part, but how do you motivate them to be part of the fire dept as a whole and the brotherhood that goes with it??? Help please!!!!
    Last edited by brandon_stephens1; 11-29-2013 at 08:25 PM.