Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Nashville Fire Department hiring info?

I'm currently serving the in the Marine Corps I have about 2 years left on my contract. Once I get out of the Marine Corps I would like to be come a Nashville Firefighter. I was wondering what steps i should take as far as education or anything. Im in the infantry so my job in the military doesn't really help me much as far as being a firefighter. Do I need to have a Fire Science degree? I planned on trying to complete my EMT certificate before my contract is up. I feel because I have no experience as a firefighter that as far as the hiring process my application would kinda just be overlooked. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Forum Member

Thank you for your service

How old are you?

Would get emt before any thing else

Read through this:

http://www.firehouse.com/forums/t116313/ (Nashville Fire Recruit)

http://www.firehouse.com/forums/t124910/ (Nashville FD..... What should I do to get hired on?)

Their web site does not give much info

http://nashfire.org/employment.htm

You might write or call to see what the minimum requirements to apply are.

My advice to all is not to settle on one department. You may never get hired. Test every where and anywhere and test often
    Last edited by fire49; 12-02-2013 at 10:57 PM.

Forum Member

Im 20, and thank you I appreciate the help

Forum Member

looking more you can ask them to notify you

http://agency.governmentjobs.com/nas...openjobrequest

looks like emt is good to have before you apply:

http://agency.governmentjobs.com/nas...6&viewOnly=yes

Forum Member

Where are you currently stationed

Forum Member

Do you happen to be stationed in Camp Lejuene? Let me know and I can get you some info on the EMT Cert course availability here.

Patrick "Doc" Cornish

Forum Member