Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By FyredUp

Thread: parade on SCBA?

Forum Member

Default parade on SCBA?

Anyone ever walk a 30-40 minute parade on SCBA? How'd you make the tank last? Chief threw down a challenge last night.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Apple Bill View Post
    Anyone ever walk a 30-40 minute parade on SCBA? How'd you make the tank last? Chief threw down a challenge last night.
    Switch the cylinder for a 1 hour bottle when no one is looking.
    Last edited by BrooklynBravest; 12-04-2013 at 10:48 AM.

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

What's the point of this?
    Crazy, but that's how it goes
    Millions of people living as foes
    Maybe it's not too late
    To learn how to love, and forget how to hate

Forum Member

Please excuse my ignorance, I'm very new to the fire service and have 0 SCBA experience. If I remember right, we have 22k psi tanks which I'm told last about 15 minutes under exertion (could have some details wrong, but the time is the factor).

Fyred, to maintain controlled breathing in order to make your air last through the walk. Nothing big, just something for fun.

Forum Member

either practice before the parade, or get an old hose and drill a few holes in it and amaze the chief in your stamina

Forum Member

ISI. Turn the switch to ambient air. Only someone that knows the packs and how they work and gets close enough to see the indicator will know if you are on pressurized or ambient air.

Forum Member

Fyred, to maintain controlled breathing in order to make your air last through the walk. Nothing big, just something for fun.
    If you believe that walking equates to anything close to actual fireground activity levels....you certainly do have a bunch to learn.

Controlling breathing while walking? So many other useful training options can be done.