Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By DeputyChiefGonzo

Thread: Needing your opinion about promoting...

Default Needing your opinion about promoting...

I am a 13 yr Firefighter/EMT. I am at a crossroads in my career. Ive always enjoyed being on the back, doing the job, and all the supervisors Ive had say I do it well.

The problem is my dept looks down on firefighters who dont promote. They think of us as "slugs" with no job interest. Nothing is further from the truth. I still love my job and am proud to be a firefighter. Whats worse is the Chiefs have a practice of moving senior firefighters out of the hole theyve worked hard to be at if we dont promote in 5 yrs.

Has anyone experienced this at your department? Did you just make yourself read and promote? Ive taken two promotional exams but the competition is brutal.

Would you just accept a slow company assignment and be happy? Im really at a crossroad here and could use some feedback...

Forum Member

Sad someone has to pull hose

Not everyone is promotion material, so chiefs should recognize those that are happy in their position and leave them alone. As long as they do the job

Some of the brightest minds on the FD are the grunts. Just because someone has trumpets or butterbars on their collars doesn't mean they are smarter...

Yes, the competition for a promotion can be worse than brutal, but keep in mind what Leo Srapleton wrote in either "30 Years on the Line" or "Commish"...

"You only have to be smart a few times in your career"....
    firedan525 likes this.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member