Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default PAE Antarctica Contract

Antarctica contract information is so jumbled between PAE and Raytheon experiences on the other threads. PLEASE if you have been to Antarctica recently on the PAE contract, fill us in on pay, shift schedules, life on the ice, etc. If you have been on the old Raytheon contract, please contribute comments on living there and what to expect.

I'm a civilian Firefighter/Paramedic working on a military base and they are about to shut our base department down due to losing our planes and budget cuts. This is part of my backup plan to buy some time afterwards. Not looking to make a career out of it or make a fortune. From what I hear the days of making six digits on contracts are soon coming to an end. Just want to do it for the experience and the travel. I would like information on pay, if there is a pay bump for Paramedics what it is, what life is like living there, shift schedules, FD station life, what the process is before leaving (recruiter interaction, training, New Zealand, etc)....anything that could be of assistance. Please help a brother out. Thanks

Forum Member

Just an update for those that are facing similar difficulties...I found that a fella from here actually had a blog going for a while when he was on the ice. He wasn't there on the PAE contract for the duration of the blog it appears, but it gives a lot of insight into what life is like there and what to expect throughout the whole process. Check it out at http://philfirerescue.blogspot.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Hey FireMedic, I was on the same boat as you. I worked for DOD at Fort Monmouth in NJ and put in for PAE/Antarctica Fire Dept to buy me some time. What a hell of an experience it was. The pay was great, the cost to me was NOTHING except booze and souvenirs and what not. I would highly recommend.

Rogo

Forum Member

Thanks Rogo!

Forum Member