Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default It's time to quit dipping...

Hello my names Dan, I'm a 12 year career Firefighter/EMT. I will be honest, Ive tried to quit smokeless tobacco countless times. Ive used the patch, gum, lozenges, hypnosis, and tried cold turkey as well. The only thing I really never had was a good support group, and being new to this forum but knowing how us firemen are, Im looking to my fellow brothers for support. I'd use the guys at my station but all of them dip so.... But Im not going to be deterred by them because I have 3 kids, and a wife that need me around a bit.

Im going to check in everyday for a month in this thread to let yall know how I'm doing. This is it. Its starts tomorrow 12-14-13. Thanks Brothers!

No dip so far, just a ton of BS calls that make me want one. Errrrrrr Hanging in.

The fact that you have a wife, three kids and that tobacco is a known cancer-causing agent that you use while are already exposed to enough other schit that causes cancer isn't enough to motivate you to quit????
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Keep it up Dan! I've quit just for the sake of spending money on something pointless. It's hard at first, but when you get past the first couple weeks, I told my coworkers hey 12 weeks, and they'd tell me I'm a... you know the rest. But for me, it wasn't so much to rub it in their faces, more to know that hey, I can quit and I'm alright with that.
    Keep it up!
    "Being a firefighter is like being on a professional sports team, but better." - Sean K.

Thanks guys. So far so good. Im ready to climb the walls though.