Forum Member

Default Rural fire dept. Need advice

Hey,
    I need some help and to get some insight on what others in my same position are doing or if there is any advice out there from experts.
    PROBLEM
    As of last year I have been put over all computer functions at my volunteer fd. During that time I have introduced Firehouse software to my department. We still use hard copy incident reports and I enter them into firehouse too. I am a career Firefighter also and sometimes I use there techniques but I am also aware that they are a larger department with different needs. My volley department runs roughly 250 a year. I am the only firefighter that enters reports there as of right now. This, as most know, takes a lot of time when its done once a month. I have spent countless hours entering 20 plus reports in one day. And over the last year I have built firehouse from the ground up for my department with some much information. We have a new computer that is about 6 months old that is kept locked up in the office area. I am one of a few with a key. The chiefs really do not want to move the computer to be accessible for other vollys and it is understandable. I have numerous Volunteers that are willing to help enter these reports.
    My solution
    Take the old computer (that still runs on Windows xp) and put in the meeting room. Then remote access the new computer. The new computer is using windows 7. I cant seem to get them to access each other. I can probably get a new computer just to remote access but I am not sure if that is necessary. I need some advice.

Forum Member

Minor comment on Firehouse software as we've gone down that road with very similar situation....and found its way too expensive and way to cumbersome for a 250 call a year FD operation.

We switched to Fire Station Software (firestationsoftware.com) and I recommend you take a look at it. Found it to offer just about everything we needed in our small Department.