Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jdcalamia

Thread: Question About Anchor

Forum Member

Question Question About Anchor

Hello Guys,

I've been a firefighter for almost ten years, but i must say i'm a complete newbie in rope rescue. I live in a small town, with no high buildings, mountains or big slopes, so rope rescue interventions are not usual.

But in any case i like to stay updated and learn about this techniques, so i'm taking a vertical operations course, and talking about anchors and anchoring systems, one guy asked about the use of our emergency trucks as anchor points, for example for rappelling..

We know we can use the wheels for setup anchors, creating negative anchors (tie low?), but the question was:

What about changing the direction of the anchor system, to create a positive anchor, using the whole structure of the truck, like in the picture attached.. Is it possible?

Name:  AnchorTruck.jpg
Views: 1462
Size:  13.6 KB

I mean, setting up the anchor in one side of the truck and then redirect the rope by the same side, going up, and then crossing by the roof to the other side...

The answer was: "it might be....."

What do you guys think...? is it possible, ??

Maybe adding some pads in the contact points... i don't know..

Thanks in advance..

Mark

Forum Member

Have done something similar once or twice...should work...just pad where padding in needed.

Forum Member

Thanks for the feedback..

Mark

Forum Member

I would be wary of this as you are essentially anchoring to the top of the vehicle, and providing a fairly long lever arm to roll the truck over. I know we get away with things a lot because our forces rarely approach "worst case" magnitudes, but it is something we need to consider.

How much force would it take to roll a piece of apparatus over? Would a 6000lb pull at the top edge do it? Because worst case that's the kind of force you could be experiencing...

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by snoboy View Post