Forum Member

Question Paid/Volunteer 'Job Book' Requirements - Input Please

Brothers/Sisters,

This evening we had a yearly outlook meeting at the firehouse. This thread isn't here to bash my department or decisions made within, simply for input from others on how you do things.

I've been in the fire service for 3 years, started as soon as I could at 18 with a great well to-do and fortunate department in Manhattan Kansas. Our probationary period there was a minimum 6 month process and included a variety of tasks; operate each apparatus, cone course, fire ground ops, rescue ops, a commercial pre-plan, district mapping, etc. Once this was completed you earned your leather and were good to go. A few things could be tweaked, but overall I felt like I had a good handle and it served me well for my remaining 2.5 years at that department.

I'm fairly new to my newly acquired 'home' in Topeka KS (where I grew up), continuing as a PPC volunteer. We staff the station with full time career members, a minimum of 2 at all times and 3 during business hours; not including our Chief and secretary.