Forum Member

Default Hello from Interior Alaska!

Hi there. I'm currently "working" for the Rural Deltana Volunteer Fire Department. I started in October 2013 and am still on the 6 Month Probation Status, but I've been showing up for training every Tuesday and calling ahead when I'll be out of town on a certain day and when I'll be back. I got a big text book at yesterday's meeting called the Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills Third Edition; it's been really informative.

I'm not brand new to firefighting however; I started working for the Department of Forestry in May 2013 and worked a hot season. I was on the Hanson Fire, the North Pole Fire, the Moon Lake/Tetlin Ridge Fire, the Rebecca Fire, and a couple small local jobs that only took a couple hours to mop up. My best experience was the crew job when we went to Moon Lake and then got called to another one near there and took the helicopter over to Tetlin Ridge.

I'm 19 years old and in addition to being a firefighter I'm also a member of the Real Life Superhero Project. We're do-gooders and activists; some of us wear costumes such as myself. I wear mine particularly when I'm going to be working with kids because I never get tired of seeing their eyes light up like Christmas at the sight of a real superhero. A lot of the other superheroes patrol for violent crime and conduct their own undercover ops and whatnot; Batman style. Me? I personally want to stay as far away from dangerous individuals as I can. I would feel foolish and irresponsible if I put myself in those situations; it's not really fixing anything and is pretty much glorified babysitting, not to mention I don't want to put my friends and family at risk. Not in the sense that "bad guys will come after me" I'm talking reality; they're at risk in the sense that if I get hurt or killed they're going to be the ones who have to deal with the consequences. For me being a rolemodel for a kid is the best way to fight crime; make sure the kids in your life do