Forum Member

Default Questions about the process

Hey yall
    So I am a college student and have always wanted to be a firefighter, I will be the first of my family to choose this career and I have no idea how to go about getting hired. So my question to you guys is, what does the process look like. I have visited a few fire houses but no one gave me a clear answer. Right now my plan is to graduate my 4 year college and then go to a fire academy and then do testing. So as you can see I really don't know much about the process. What major would you recommend? If you could give me an outline of the process I would be very great full.
    Thanks guys!

Forum Member

What state are you in?

How old are you

Get a nursing degree

Hiring process depends on the dept

Check a few web sites in your state to see what the minimum requirements are just to apply

Get them--- some want college hours only--- some want certain certifications

Apply

Normally written test

Followed by some type of physical agility test

If you make it that far than oral interview

If offered a job, medical physical , poly test

Than after that depends on the department

http://www.eatstress.com/resume.htm

Stay out of any trouble including traffic violations

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by ABizzack View Post
    Hey yall
    So I am a college student and have always wanted to be a firefighter, I will be the first of my family to choose this career and I have no idea how to go about getting hired. So my question to you guys is, what does the process look like. I have visited a few fire houses but no one gave me a clear answer. Right now my plan is to graduate my 4 year college and then go to a fire academy and then do testing. So as you can see I really don't know much about the process. What major would you recommend? If you could give me an outline of the process I would be very great full.
    Thanks guys!