Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By andrewmac1419

Thread: School

Forum Member

Default School

I am currently a freshman in high school and I know I still have 3 years however if I want to get a job as a career firefighter when I am older. Currently I am a fire explorer which is a good start and I just wanted to know: A: Is there classes/courses (In summer) I can do in high school to boost my odds. B: what type of school/academy should I go to after high school. And C: Would it be helpful to be volunteer before going to a career department.

Any input would be appreciated!

-Eddie Lanser

Forum Member

Hey Little Brother,

I started off my career as an explorer and then joined the volunteer fire department when I turned 18 (some states and dept are age dependent). Today I am proud to say that I am living my life long dream as a career firefighter a dream that had many questions when I was your age which was only 12 years ago.

I found myself looking at a lot of options on what I should do and how to achieve them to give me a better shot at getting the "Job". I searched high and low but could never find the right answers. What I will say next is my thoughts and knowledge on what help me get the "Job" (sorry might be kind of long):

A- Stay in school and work your butt off during high school. A lot of your entrance exams are basic to intermediate math, english, and reading. Also study the ASVAB book this will help you when it comes to taking some of these written entrance exams for FD's.