Forum Member

Default Fire management officer. Fire warden.

I'm a new guy here and I was wondering if anyone has any experience with the job fire management officer posted on usajobs or as a forest fire warden. I'm on my town FD and will be attending the Call/Vol academy over the summer. I'm enrolled in the fire science program at my CC and plan on moving towards a BS in biology or ecology and a masters in forestry or wildlife conservation. I have a strong interest in wildland fire fighting and forestry. I'm looking at future careers and the fire management job and forest fire warden are two careers I find alot of interest in. I was wondering if anyone here has any experience in either of those two and would mind telling me if they enjoyed them, how hard it was to find them and what type of person they're looking for.

Forum Member

I am currently a seasonal firefighter with the USFS. It is a lot of fun, you see a lot of land and do things most people will never experience. You are going to need experience before you just move into a FMO position. I would recommend getting your S-190, S-130, S-110, L-180, I-100, IS-700 certificates so you can start applying for an entry level wild land firefighter position.

If you like working hard, have a good attitude and are not afraid of dirty wilderness conditions then this line of work is for you.

It sounds like the Forest Service would be a great fit for you since you have a specific interest in forestry and there is more opportunities nation wide on many different unique forests. Also National park service and BLM could have opportunities for you as well.

Anyway good luck.
    Last edited by StrengthBuilder; 02-14-2014 at 06:19 PM.

Forum Member

If you're talking about FMO with a fed agency then no amount of college will make you a FMO... You need fire experience and a lot of it! Focus on the 25m target first, and get a job as a seasonal with one of those agencies.