Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Australian looking to work in USA

Hey, so my question is:
    Im currently a volunteer firefighter here in australia looking to make a career out of it.

I understand the visa requirements and difficulties needed to move to USA, even to obtain a regular work visa opposed to a greencard.

Im wondering if there are any fire departments out there that offer either work experience/internship type things for people like myself who arent legally allowed to work
    Id love to just experience firefighting in one of the larger cities, NY, Chicago etc..
    Im not sure how to go about this because of the legal process, unless there is a way to undergo training or even volunteer work.
    Thanks in advance.

Forum Member

You can maybe look for some colleges/universities that may have in residence programs. I believe there are many on the east coast. Washington State used to have one, but that's gone now. There's one down in Central Oregon, I've heard of. you may be able to get a student visa and work around the issue that way...

Forum Member

Thanks mate, what do you mean by in residence programs?
    i think even the work visa is difficult to obtain from what ive read

Forum Member