Forum Member

Wink I need some vital advice about my future

Hi everyone,

I apologize if this is not the right forum, but between all the sub-forums I thought this would be the best one.

Long story short, and straight to the advise needed. I'm 32 years old, and I work as a flight instructor. Since I was young I always wanted to be a firefighter, but for family reasons I ended going to college and then to flight school. I'm a spaniard and my background is pretty atypical in my opinion. I lived a couple of years in UK, 3 in Germany, and after getting my greencard I moved to the US, while I moved back to my profession, aviation.

But call it destiny, I rented an apartment and it's close to a fire station, and everytime they respond to a call, oh my god!, I feel again like a teenager, my skin and those shivers.....well I guess that most of you know what I mean.
    The thing is...and maybe this is a european concept of this profession, but am I too old to change my career? being firefighter the change of course. I know I'm still young, but I don't know how the departments may look at me, compared to those guys in their 20's.
    No EMT or any kind of certificate or experience at all, and I would need to lose a lot of weight, but that's the easy part actually.

I live in Denver, CO, and I've seen in internet that they need volunteer bilingual firefighters, wich would be ideal in my case I guess.

So what do you think guys, would it be too weird/undoable to change careers at this point? and talking about time, if I dedicate myself full time to prepare everything, maybe get EMT-B certificate, get really fit, etc....?

I don't know, I just feel like this would be my last chance of at least trying it.

Thanks for taking the time to read me, and I appreciate any advice you could offer me.

Saludos!

Forum Member

You might start by volunteering , that will give you a taste and see if it is what you thought it was and if you want to do it