Forum Member

Default First response program

Hi folks,

I'm pretty much a nobody in my department (only about 3 years of experience), but I have been thinking about what it would take to start a first response program in my district. Our mutual aid partners have a system where if the primary EMS provider gets a second call and another, more distant ambulance needs to be dispatched, the Fire Department sends an engine staffed with EMT trained firefighters to provide some basic care until the ambulance arrives.

Like I said, I don't have any real clout but I do think my community could benefit from this system and I'm curious about what it takes to get a program like this started. Keeping in mind that my department currently doesn't run any medical calls (aside from lift assists) and we have no EMTs on the roster, and also keeping in mind that I have no EMS experience myself, I'm looking for advice from people who have a program like this or especially those who have started one in the past.

- Startup cost: What could we be looking at here? We have basic first aid equipment on every truck, but I know we would need an A.E.D. and medications, etc. If we outfit one engine for first response, what kind of costs could we be looking at? There's also the cost for getting people certified as EMTs, which will not be trivial.

- Ongoing training: Are there federal training requirements for members to retain EMT certification, as is the case for Firefighter I/II certs? What is the time commitment for this like? I know our training schedule is already pretty strained.

- Renumeration: Do departments who currently have a program like this receive any compensation for the calls? Do you bill the EMS for mutual aid or something similar, or does it come from the patients? It would be hard to justify the training, the time, the equipment, wear and tear on the trucks and fuel, without some kind of renumeration.