Like Tree39Likes

Thread: Extinguishment vs. search.

Forum Member

Default Extinguishment vs. search.

I have been working as assistant training officer for a couple of months now and am faced with a problem. Well, I think it is a problem. We are a small city/county department that averages about 100 fire calls a year. Of those maybe 1-3 are structure fires. out of 19 members we have 10 that can put on a SCBA and operate inside.

My problem is that the training is way more focused on search than extinguishment. To my way of thinking we should be spending more time on extinguishment. On any given call we might have three show up that can go inside and any mutual aid companies are at least twenty minutes away. Some stragglers may respond with the second engine but no guarantee that they will pack up. I dont believe that we have enough people to mount a fire attack and search at the same time.
    Dont get me wrong, I believe that search training is important, but I cant see the reasoning behind us being really good at searches and poor at engine company tactics.

What do you guys think? Should I get over it or push for more engine co. training?
    The fire service is about service to our fellow man.
    There is a trust that must not be broken and we are the keepers of that trust.
    Captain Dave LeBlanc

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by conrad427 View Post
    I have been working as assistant training officer for a couple of months now and am faced with a problem. Well, I think it is a problem. We are a small city/county department that averages about 100 fire calls a year. Of those maybe 1-3 are structure fires. out of 19 members we have 10 that can put on a SCBA and operate inside.