Thread: Nfpa 1906

Forum Member

Default Nfpa 1906

Can someone help me ... I am a student of Fire Engineering and Rescue Services on University of Žilina In Slovakia. I am writting a bachalor thesis on topic: Light wildland / brush fire truck for forest fire suppression. Can I ask, If someone know some info about NFPA 1906....

Forum Member

You can read it for free online, it is a little difficult but free

In the front it gives you the history of the document

Just go down to where it says view,,,,, Set up a free account and read away

http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standa...code&code=1906

Forum Member

Not sure what you are looking for it is a standard

NFPA 1906: DOCUMENT SCOPE
    1.1* Scope. This standard defines the requirements for new automotive fire apparatus, including apparatus equipped with a slip-on fire-fighting module, designed primarily to support wildland fire suppression operations.

Forum Member

O.K.

I have had this rant inside for a while so, here goes.

Do not get me wrong when you read this. I am a big believer in standards and sticking to them when they are based on science and/or common sense. It seems just seems like a lot of standards are being set that are needless unless they tend to have some kind of effect on the market.

So, here goes:

In the United States, the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), is an organization made up of people with skin in the game. They develop "consensus standards" through panels of representative people from their various perspectives. Often, these standards are given enough credence to be held up in court as, "minimum acceptable standards."