Thread: DoD FF question

Forum Member

Default DoD FF question

I am a Navy Veteran and have been trying to get on DoD fire for the longest. Is there anyone out there the has any pointers? Is there a DoD fire school? Do they only hire prior or certified FFs?

Thanks

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Dlcowboys5 View Post
    I am a Navy Veteran and have been trying to get on DoD fire for the longest. Is there anyone out there the has any pointers? Is there a DoD fire school? Do they only hire prior or certified FFs?

Thanks

Are you asking about active duty or civilian federal firefighter??

Forum Member

What state are you in???

The Air Force runs the fire school in San Angelo

If trying to get on civilian fed you need to look for a training position such as GS 3 or 4, with no experience

Is there some reason you do not want to work for a city?? Most of the time better working conditions

Yes they normally look for ex active firefighters which the Air Force produces a lot of
    Last edited by fire49; 04-08-2014 at 07:16 AM.

Forum Member

For city depts you might check this site for help

http://www.eatstress.com/resume.htm

Forum Member

Looking into the GS side..

I'm in FL right now, I've applied to a few depts in GA and hoping someone bites. The only reason I want DoD fire is so I can get back to Guam, also retirement and benefits are a lot better than many depts. From what I've been reading is they no longer hire people without any certs.

Forum Member